Skip to main content

RDA Training & Resources: Introduction

About This LibGuide

The State Library of North Carolina's Resource Management Services Branch underwent RDA training in fall 2013 and is now creating all original records using the RDA guidelines. 

This LibGuide consists of resources that we used during our training and/or use during our current task of creating RDA records in different formats, as well as authorities. There are resources for both professional and paraprofessional catalogers, in addition to information that may be of interest to non-cataloging staff who are curious about RDA.

FRBR / RDA / MARC

FRBR (Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records) is an entity-relationship conceptual model, that relates user tasks of retrieval and access in online library catalogues and bibliographic databases from a user’s perspective. It represents a more holistic approach to retrieval and access as the relationships between the entities provide links to navigate through the hierarchy of relationships.

RDA (Resource Description and Access) is a content standard for cataloguing that is based on the FRBR conceptual model and provides instructions and guidelines on formulating data for resource description and discovery. RDA is the successor to AACR2 (Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules). 

MARC (Machine-Readable Cataloging) is a communication format, or encoding scheme, by which computers exchange, use, and interpret bibliographic information.

 Source: Wikipedia

BIBFRAME AS A SUCCESSOR TO MARC

BIBFRAME (Bibliographic Framework) Initiative will replace the MARC (Machine-Readable Cataloging) format. As an initiative, it is investigating all aspects of bibliographic description, data creation, and data exchange. In addition to replacing the MARC format, this includes accommodating different content models and cataloging rules, exploring new methods of data entry, and evaluating current exchange protocols.

More about BIBFRAME : http://www.loc.gov/bibframe/

Source: http://www.loc.gov/bibframe/

 

RDA Background (from RDA Toolkit)

Contact Info

Image from sd.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk

 

Vicki Brueck

Senior Cataloger

vicki.brueck@ncdcr.gov

 

Eve Grünberg

Documents Cataloger

eve.grunberg@ncdcr.gov

 

Monica Figueroa

Assistant State Documents Cataloger

monica.figueroa@ncdcr.gov