Skip to main content

State Publications about African Americans in North Carolina: Home

The following guide is not an exhaustive list of all documents that contain information about African Americans in the North Carolina State Government Publications collection.

Welcome to the State Documents about African Americans in North Carolina Guide

In this library guide, you will find select documents and resources created by state government agencies and located in the North Carolina State Government Publications digital and print collections. These resources contain present and historical information about African Americans in the state. The selective list of resources is intended to provide you with guidance as you start your research. Each page, navigated through the tabs above, includes brief descriptions about each resource as well as subject terms, alternate titles, and significant dates within the publication. Additionally, icons located after the document title indicate the format of the resource.

Enjoy and happy researching!

"Five Palmer Institute Teachers," courtesy of the Charlotte Hawkins Brown Museum. From the State Library African American Education Digital Collection.

Still Stumped?

Below you will find links to our list of subject terms and state government agencies (both arranged alphabetically) as well as a how-to on searching the NC State Publications collection. Please feel free to contact a librarian with any questions.

Contact Information

State Library employee. From the State Library Bicentennial Digital Collection.

Government & Heritage Library
Website:
http://statelibrary.ncdcr.gov/ghl/index.html

Phone:
Government and History & Genealogical Research
(919) 807-7460

Email:
slnc.reference@ncdcr.gov
Genealogy request? FAQ

Physical address:
109 E. Jones St.
Raleigh, NC 27601

Mailing address:
4640 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4600

Image credits

1. "Five Palmer Institute Teachers." Charlotte Hawkins Brown Museum. State Library African American Education Digital Collection. http://digital.ncdcr.gov/cdm/ref/collection/p16062coll13/id/89. (accessed March 11, 2016).

2. State Library employee. State Library Bicentennial Digital Collection. http://digital.ncdcr.gov/cdm/ref/collection/p249901coll36/id/1993. (accessed March 11, 2016).