Skip to main content

Beginning Genealogy Resources : State and Local Resources

This is a guide to print and online resources useful to the study of family history and genealogy. Many of these materials are available through the Government and Heritage Library.

State and Local Resources (North Carolina)

Cain, Barbara T. Guide to Private Manuscript Collections in the North Carolina State Archives.. 3rd rev. ed. Raleigh, NC: North Carolina Dept. of Cultural Resources, Division of Archives and History, 1981.

Corbitt, David Leroy. The Formation of North Carolina Counties, 1663-1943. Raleigh, NC: State Department of Archives and History, 1950.

Guide to County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. 12th rev. ed. Raleigh, NC: NC Department of Cultural Resources, Office of Archives and History, 2009.

Haines, Jeffrey L. Research in North Carolina. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2008.

Leary, Helen F.M., ed. North Carolina Research: Genealogy and Local History. 2nd ed. Raleigh, NC: North Carolina Genealogical Society, 1996.

Long, John H., ed., and Gordon DenBoer, comp. Atlas of Historical County Boundaries. North Carolina. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1998.

Mitchell, Thornton W. North Carolina Wills: A Testator Index, 1665-1900. Corrected and rev. ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1992.

North Carolina Government and Heritage Library Online Catalog

North Carolina Family Records Online. North Carolina Government and Heritage Library and State Archives of North Carolina.

North Carolina Gazetteer Online. Content is from the North Carolina Gazetteer, edited by William S. Powell and Michael Hill. Copyright 2010 by the University of North Carolina Press. Used by permission of the publisher.

North Carolina Public Libraries. Links to libraries compiled by State Library of North Carolina.

Ports, Michael A. North Carolina Genealogy Research. Genealogy at a Glance series. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2014.

State Archives of North Carolina MARS Catalog

National Genealogical Society. Research in the States Series.

Agthe, Claire Keenan. Research in New Jersey. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2009.

Angevine, Erma. Research in the District of Columbia. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 1992.

Bamman, Gale Williams. Research in Tennessee. Rev. and updated ed. by Charles A. Sherrill. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2009.

ook, Bettie Anne. Research in Kentucky. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2012.

DeBoer, Shirley M. Research in Michigan. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2008.

DeGrazia, Laura Murphy. Research in New York City, Long Island, and Westchester County. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2013.

Douglass, Mary Clement. “Genealogical Research in Kansas.” National Genealogical Society Quarterly. 92 (2004): [119]-142.

Freilich, Kay Haviland. Research in Pennsylvania. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2007.

Gagel, Diane VanSkiver. Research in Ohio. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2008.

Geiger, Linda Woodward and Paul K. Graham. Research in Georgia. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2011.

Gilmore, Janis Walker. Research in South Carolina. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2011.

Grundset, Eric. Research in Virginia. 3rd ed. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2014.

Haines, Jeffrey L. Research in North Carolina. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2008.

inckley, Kathleen W. Research in Colorado. Rev. and updated. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2010.

King, Roberta. Research in Nebraska. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2008.

Lenzen, Connie. Research in Oregon. 2nd ed. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2007.

Little, Barbara Vines. Research in West Virginia. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2007.

Porter, Pamela Boyer. Research in Missouri. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2007.

Shawker, Patricia O'Brien. Research in Maryland. 2nd ed. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2008.

Slater-Putt, Dawne Lisa. Research in Indiana. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2012.

Suffridge, Lynda Childers. Research in Arkansas. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2008.

Taylor, Maureen Alice. Research in Rhode Island. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2001.

Walsh, Diane Renner. Research in Illinois. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 2007.

Warren, Paula Stuart. Research in Minnesota. Arlington, VA: National Genealogical Society, 1992.

State and Local Resources (Non-North Carolina)

Barefield, Marilyn Davis. Researching in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide. Rev. ed. Birmingham, AL: Birmingham Public Library, 1998.

Barnes, Robert. Guide to Research in Baltimore City and County. 2nd ed. Westminster, MD: Family Line Publications, 1993.

_______. Guide to Research in York & Adams County, Pennsylvania. Westminster, MD: Family Line Publications, 1996.

Bell, Carol Willsey. Ohio: Guide to Genealogical Sources. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988.

Bently, Elizabeth Petty. The Genealogist’s Address Book: State and Local Resource with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations. 6th ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2009.

Berry, Ellen Thomas and David Allen Berry. Our Quaker Ancestors: Finding Them in Quaker Records. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1987.

Byers, Paula K., ed. African American Genealogical Sourcebook. New York: Gale Research, 1995.

Croom, Emily Anne. The Genealogist’s Companion and Sourcebook.. 2nd ed. Cincinnati: Betterway Books, 2003.

Curry, Cora C. Records of the Roman Catholic Church in the United States As a Source for Authentic Genealogical and Historical Material. Washington, DC: National Genealogical Society, 1935.

Davis, Robert Scott. Tracing Your Alabama Past. Jackson: University of Mississippi Press, 2003.

Doherty, Thomas P. Delaware Genealogical Research Guide. 3rd ed. Wilmington, DE: Delaware Genealogical Society, 2002.

Eales, Anne Bruner and Robert M. Kvasnicka. Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives of the United States. 3rd ed. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 2000.

Eichholz, Alice. Collecting Vermont Ancestors. Rev. ed. Montpelier, VT: New Trails, 1993.

Genealogical Indexes and Abstracts of Newspapers: Newspapers by State and County. Online guide. North Carolina Government and Heritage Library.

Greenwood, Val D. The Researcher’s Guide to American Genealogy. 3rd ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2000.

Guzik, Estelle M. Genealogical Resources in New York. New York: Jewish Genealogical Society, 2003.

The Handybook for Genealogists: United State of America. 11th ed. Logan, UT: Everton Publishers, 2006.

Hone, E. Wade. Land & Property Research in the United States. Salt Lake City, UT: Ancestry, 1997.

Kennedy, Imogene Kinard and J. Leon Kennedy. Genealogical Records in Texas. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1987.

Lainhart, Ann S. A Researcher's Guide to Boston. Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2003.

_______. State Census Records. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1992.

Leclerc, Michael J., ed. Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research. 5th ed. Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012.

McGinnis, Carol. Virginia Genealogy: Sources & Resources. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1993.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections. Library of Congress. Gateway to cataloged manuscript collections in libraries and archives throughout the United States.

North Carolina Land Records in the 1700s. Online guide. North Carolina Government and Heritage Library.

Rapaport, Diane. New England Court Records: A Research Guide for Genealogists and Historians. Burlington, MA: Quill Pen Press, 2006.

Remington, Gordon L. New York State Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources. Boston: New England Genealogical Society, 2002.

Rose, James M. and Alice Eichholz. Black Genesis: A Resource Book for African-American Genealogy. 2nd ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2003.

Schaefer, Christina K. The Center: A Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Capital Area. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1996.

Sperry, Kip. Genealogical Research in Ohio. 2nd ed. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2003.

_______. New England Genealogical Research: A Guide to Sources. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1988.

Szucs, Loretto Dennis. Chicago and Cook County: A Guide to Research. Salt Lake City, UT: Ancestry, 1996.

_______ and Sandra Hargreaves Luebkin, eds. The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy. 3rd ed. Provo, UT: Ancestry, 2006. Also available on Ancestry.com wiki.

National Society Daughters of the American Revolution. State Source Guides on American Revolution Series.

Grundset, Eric. Georgia in the American Revolution: A Source Guide for Genealogists and Historians. Washington, DC: National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, 2013.

_______. New York in the American Revolution: A Source Guide for Genealogists and Historians. Washington, DC: National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, 2012.

_______. Rhode Island in the American Revolution: A Source Guide for Genealogists and Historians. Washington, DC: National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, 2014.

_______. South Carolina in the American Revolution: A Source Guide for Genealogists and Historians. Washington, DC: National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, 2013.

Additional titles forthcoming.