LibGuides: Hurricane Helene Disaster Relief Resources: Help for Libraries, Museums & Cultural Organizations

Heritage Emergency National Task Force (HENTF)

FEMA and the Smithsonian Institution co-sponsor the emergency task force HENTF, which assists local museums, libraries, and other cultural entities whose collections are damaged by disasters. They also help members of the public salvage heirlooms. Read more about HENTF and how they can help devastated communities protect their cultural treasures. Currently, the organization is providing public assistance in recovery efforts in the 25 North Carolina counties and the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Tribal Area most heavily impacted by Helene.

See Process of Public Assistance Grants for more information.

Public assistance at this time includes:

EMERGENCY WORK- Must be completed within six months

Category A (Debris Removal)
Category B (Emergency Protective Measures, including direct technical assistance)
- Category B, Emergency Protective Measures include:

Temporary emergency repair (blue roofs and other work) or stabilization of an eligible facility if it eliminates or lessens an immediate threat.
Wet vacuuming, damp wiping, or vacuuming with High-Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) equipment of the interior space.
Removal of contaminated gypsum board, plaster (or similar wall finishes), carpet or floor finishes, and ceilings or permanent light fixtures.
Cleaning of contaminated heating and ventilation (including ductwork), plumbing, and air conditioning systems or other mechanical equipment.
Removal or relocation of collections to prevent damage or loss.

PERMANENT WORK- Must be completed within 18 months

Category C: Roads and bridges
Category D: Water control facilities
Category E: Public Buildings and equipment
Category F: Public utilities
Category G: Parks, recreational. and other facilities

For more information on the Public Assistance Program Delivery Process, go to Public Assistance Program and Policy Guide Version 4.

Assistance

North Carolina Cultural Resources Emergency Support Team (CREST)

North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources - Assistance for archives, historic sites, libraries, museums, and other cultural institutions

EBSCO Disaster Recovery Resources

EBSCO has provided access to disaster recovery resources and home improvement resources to assist in Hurricane Helene relief efforts. These resources are available to NC LIVE member libraries in North Carolina.

FEMA Public Assistance Grants

Organizations in Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yancey counties as well as the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians of North Carolina can apply for Public Assistance Grants for debris removal and emergency protective measures (blue roof tarps, wet vacuuming, removing contaminated plaster, carpet, etc.)

National Heritage Responders

The National Heritage Responders (NHR) respond to the needs of cultural institutions and the public during emergencies and disasters through coordinated efforts with first responders, state agencies, vendors, and the public.

Northeast Document Conservation Center

The Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC) provides information on dealing with damaged collections and has a hotline which can give advice on how to save, preserve and restore collections. They also provide suggestions for disaster recovery service providers and other online resources.

Foundation for Advancement in Conservation

The Foundation for Advancement in Conservation (FAIC) has created a disaster response and recovery guides webpage which provides videos and fact sheets for recovering various materials in collections from paper to fabric.

National Archives and Records Administration - Records Emergencies

This website gives collecting institutions the steps to take when recovering from a disaster and how to prepare in advance.