Hurricane Helene Disaster Relief Resources: Individuals and Families

Visit these sites for the latest information on conditions and rescue efforts.

• ReadyNC - provides information for shelters, power outages, evacuation routes, disaster assistance and more

• DriveNC - provides up-to-date information on road conditions for affected areas

• North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services - provides recovery resources including public safety response, NC Medicaid flexibility information and disaster recovery resources

• North Carolina Department of Public Safety - provides county specific information for the affected areas, where open shelters are located, power outages, a disaster distress hotline, and resources to help you locate your loved ones

• North Carolina Environmental Quality: DEQ Dashboard - provides status updates for public drinking water systems, wastewater treatment plants and dam safety

• FEMA: News and Media - provides press releases and fact sheets related to the disaster that is frequently updated

FEMA - for disaster assistance for individuals impacted by Helene, apply at https://www.disasterassistance.gov/ or call 1-800-621-3362 

Helpful Links

• Application Process -  a link to a brochure which gives the steps to apply for disaster assistance
• Individuals and Households Program - gives information about the application process and requirements, check out the "Road to Recovery" page for a step-by-step explanation of the process
• After You Apply - information on the process and what steps you can take after you apply for assistance
• How to Appeal FEMA's Decision - how to appeal a decision after a determination is made by FEMA

Helpful Videos

• Eligibility Criteria - an instructive video which gives the criteria for applying for assistance
• Three Ways to Apply for Assistance - an instructive video which gives different methods for applying for assistance
• Disaster Assistance in Your Community - an instructive video which gives helpful tips and information on navigating a disaster in your community

Resources below can help individuals, families, and businesses searching for assistance following the disaster. 

Individuals and Families

• NC 211 - a page that provides information to help those affected find resources following a disaster

• How to Apply for FEMA Assistance - a short press release covering the steps to apply and what you'll need when applying

• North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services: Disaster Recovery - a page containing information on safety and following a disaster 

• North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services: Hurricane Helene Recovery Communications Toolkit - informational pages in Spanish and English addressing basic needs and safety

• North Carolina Department of Public Safety: Individual Assistance - a program that provides assistance to homeowners and renters whose primary residences were damaged or destroyed by natural disaster

• North Carolina Department of Commerce: Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) - provides assistance to individuals who lost or had their employment interrupted by a federally declared disaster

• North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services: North Carolina Vital Records - a site where you can reorder vital records such as birth certificates and marriage licenses to replace documents damaged or lost in the disaster

• North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services - Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) - provides support to purchase food for those affected by the disaster

• Save Your Family Treasures - co-sponsored by FEMA and the Smithsonian Institution, this partnership helps those affected by disaster preserve and recover precious belongings

• National Coalition for Arts Preparedness and Emergency Response - provides assistance to individual artists and performing groups who have been affected by the disaster, this links to a form that those affected can fill out

• North Carolina State Extension - provides resources on how to stay safe following a disaster with guides like how to sterilize dishes following a flood and support for farmers seeking crop insurance

Businesses

• U.S. Small Business Administration: Disaster Assistance - provides loans for small businesses following a disaster

• FEMA: Help for Businesses - provides steps to take for businesses to recover following a disaster

Tribal, Local and State Governments

• Public Assistance Grants - FEMA provides grants to tribal, local, and state governments, and some private non-profits to help communities recover faster.