Below are print resources that are available for research at the SLNC Government and Heritage Library. These books are abstracts of original records located in the State Archives of North Carolina.
Hofmann, Margaret M. Abstracts of Granville Grantees, Halifax County, North Carolina Public Registry. Weldon,N.C. Roanoke News Co., 1967.
Hofmann, Margaret M. Chowan Precinct, North Carolina, 1696-1723: Genealogical Abstracts of Deed Books. Weldon, N.C. Roanoke News Co., 1976.
Hofmann, Margaret M. Colony of North Carolina...:Abstracts of Land Patents. Weldon, N.C.: Roanoke News Co., 1982-1984.
Hofmann, Margaret M. Granville District of North Carolina, 1748-1763 : Abstracts of Land Grants. Weldon, N.C. : Roanoke News Co., 1986-1995.
Hofmann, Margaret M. North Carolina abstracts of state grants. Ann Arbor, Mich. : Print-Tech, 1998-2003.
Hofmann, Margaret M. Province of North Carolina, 1663-1729: Abstract of Land Patents. Weldon, N.C.: Roanoke News Co., 1979.
Whitley, Carolina B. and Susan M. Trimble. North Carolina headrights: a List of Names, 1663-1744. Raleigh, N.C. : Division of Archives and History, N.C. Dept. of Cultural Resources, 2001.
Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWit. Revolutionary War bounty land grants : awarded by state governments. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1996.
Cartwright, Betty Goff Cook and Lillian Johnson Gardiner. North Carolina land grants in Tennessee, 1778-1791. Memphis, TN : I. C. Harper Co., 1958.
Holcomb, Brent. North Carolina land grants in South Carolina. Baltimore : Genealogical Publishing Company, [2009].
Start with resources from Archives and then include nclandgrants site and also any resources like HQ, Ancestry, and Family Search. Entries on this page should be annotated to explain what can be found and collection names on HQ, A and FS
The State Archives of North Carolina has an online catalog of select records called DOC (Discover Online Catalog). The catalog can be searched by name. Entries in the catalog related to land grants will show "Secretary of State Record Group" and will include the words "Land Office" and include dates and county. Clicking on an entry will open up to show more details including acres, location of the land, and more.
The best source to see the images remotely is the site https://nclandgrants.com. In addition to the information you will find on DOC, as discussed above, this site will also have the image of the record. From this site, choose query, enter the name of the person you are researching and click on search. On the next page you have the option to sign in, to create a free account, or continue as a guest. Once you are in, you'll be taken back to the search page. Scroll down to see results. Results will include name(s), county, date the grant was issued, when the grantee made an entry, how many acres, description of the land, grant number, and then a link to the image. The next page will show more details with the grant image(s) at the bottom. You can click on the image to see more and from here you can print and/or download any images.