LibGuides: North Carolina Newspapers: Finding Digitized Newspapers Online

Finding digitized newspapers online

There is no ONE single source for locating digitized newspaper content online. Access to digitized papers is a patchwork of collections provided by subscription based providers (by personal subscription and through subscriptions provided by libraries), digitization projects with free access by libraries and other educational institutions, and others.

It's also important to keep in mind that subscription databases can change the selection of papers they provide access to. And at times libraries have to change the access they provide to paid subscriptions. Check with your library providers to learn what resources they provide access to and to get help finding other sources where you may be able to access content.

This page will help you locate North Carolina newspapers in both freely available online collections and through paid subscription access provided by libraries.

North Carolina newspapers online: freely available access

A number of papers are available through free online access (no accounts required) from the following sites:

Online newspaper collection	Features and available newspapers
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center (DigitalNC)	Freely accessible from anywhere, no account required A broad selection of North Carolina local community newspapers Includes early North Carolina newspapers from 1751 to 1898 African American community newspapers Native American community newspapers Campus and university newspapers, and others
Chronicling America Library of Congress	Freely available from anywhere, no account required Publication information for historical U.S. newspapers Searchable database to help you locate papers available in a particular location for a particle time and information on where to find those papers Selection of digitized newspapers from 1777-1963 from across the United States Includes numerous North Carolina newspapers with digital access

North Carolina newspapers online: subscription access from libraries

Most access to digitized historical and contemporary newspaper collections online comes from subscription providers. Typically these subscriptions are purchased by libraries and related institutions, although some are available for personal subscription.

This section includes database subscriptions to a wide range of North Carolina newspapers, both historical and contemporary, and other papers relevant to North Carolina history and the South that are provided by North Carolina library institutions.

The State Library of North Carolina purchases subscription access to a number of newspaper databases that are available to State Library account holders (residents of North Carolina can apply for the library card). NC LIVE, a provider of digital resources to public, university, and community college libraries across the state also provides subscription access to newspapers to library patrons at these libraries (including the State Library). See details below.

Online access provider	Features and available newspapers
State Library of North Carolina newspaper subscriptions	Available to NC residents and state employees with a State Library card Broadly: North Carolina Newspapers, historical and contemporary, from 1751 to present Historical and contemporary Southeast newspapers Black historical newspapers: Baltimore and Norfolk Raleigh N&O and Charlotte Observer historical and contemporary 19th century newspapers Visit the library's online resources page for a full listing of content available
NC LIVE	Available to State Library card holders as well as library patrons at public, university, and community college libraries across the state Historical North Carolina Newspapers Collection 1751-1999 Other national newspapers, including the New York Times, and international newswires