Data Resources Guide: Statistics by Subject

N.C. Dept. of Agriculture Statistics

• Census of Agriculture
• County Estimates
• 2020 N.C. Agricultural Statistics

U.S. Dept. of Agriculture

• Agricultural Statistics Annual, National Agricultural Statistics Service
• Data Products
• N.C. State Fact Sheet 
• Quick Stats

Historical

• Census of Agriculture Historical Archive (1840 - 2012)
• N.C. Dept. of Agriculture Statistics (1940 - present)

Back to subject list

U.S. Census Bureau

• Building Permits Survey (1995-present)

• Data Visualization Tool (1990-present)

Back to subject list

Current

• U.S. Census Bureau
  • census.data.gov
• StatsAmerica
  • North Carolina
• Census Reporter  (Northwestern University)

Historical 

• LINC: Log Into North Carolina, NC State Data Center
• N.C. Census Data (1960-1980) N.C. Digital Collections, State Library of N.C.
• Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790-2000
• Social Explorer
• U.S. Census Bureau
  • ​​Decennial Censuses (1790-2020)
  • Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
  • Statistical Abstract Series (1889-2012)
• University of Virginia Library
  • City and County Data Book (1947-2007)

Back to subject list

Annie E. Casey Foundation

• Data By Topic
• Kids Count Data Book and more 
• Kids Count Data Center-By Location

N.C. Child

• County Data Cards

N.C. Dept. of Health and Human Services

• Early Childhood Action Plan County Data Reports
• North Carolina Early Childhood Integrated Data System Reporting

U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services

• Adoption & Foster Care Statistics
• Child Maltreatment
• Children's Bureau

 Back to subject list

N.C. Dept. of Public Safety

• Statistics
• Adult Corrections
  • Statistical Reports
• Juvenile Justice 
  • Data/Statistics/Reports
• N.C. State Prison, Annual and Biennial Reports (1872 - 1964)
• State Highway Patrol Statistics (2013 - present)

U.S. Dept. of Justice

• Bureau of Justice Statistics
  • Census of Jails
  • Historical Corrections Statistics in the United States, 1850-1984
  • Publications and Products
• Federal Bureau of Prisons Statistics
• Federal Bureau of Investigations
  • Crime Data Explorer
  • Hate Crime Statistics
  • Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics, FBI (1996-2019)

 Back to subject list

Missouri State Data Center

• CAPS: Circular Area Profiling System

N.C. State Data Center, N.C. Office of State and Budget Management

• LINC: Log Into North Carolina
• Population Estimates and Projections

StatsAmerica, Indiana Research Center and University, Kelley School of Business)

U.S. Census Bureau

• Current Population Survey
• data.census.gov

Back to subject list

FRED Economic Data, Federal Reserve Bank

Federal Reserve Archive, FRASER

• Annual Statistical Digest (1971 - 2000)
• Banking Statistics  (1896 - 1955)

Bureau of Economic Analysis

• BEA Data
• BEARFACTS
• Industry Facts
• Regional Economic Accounts
• Survey of Current Business (1921 - present)

Missouri Economic Research and Information Center

• Cost of Living by State

N.C. Dept. of Revenue

• Sales Tax (1997 - present)

Prices and Wages by Decade: University Missouri Libraries

U.S. Census Bureau

• Building Permits Survey
• Business & Industry
  • Historical Data (1992 - 2012)
• County Business Patterns
• Survey of Business Owners and Self-Employed Persons
• Economic Census

Back to subject list

Division of Non-Public Education, N.C. DOA

• Home School Closings (2018-present)
• Home School Statistics (1988-present)
• Private School Statistics, Grade K-12 Schools (1961 - present)

National Center for Education Statistics, Institute of Education Statistics

• Fast facts
• Literacy- (US compared to other countries)
• School District Mapping and Demographics

N.C. Community Colleges

• Statistical Reports (2010 - present)

N.C. Department of Public Instruction

• Data & Reports
• EDDIE: The Educational Directory and Demographical Information Exchange
• School Report Cards
  • Archived School Report Cards (2001 - 2013)
  • Data Sources and Information Guide
  • NC School Report Cards

N.C. Division of Child Development and Early Education, NCDHHS (Daycares)

• Child Care Statistical Report (2004 - present)
• N.C. Child Care Snapshot

U.S. Dept. of Education

• Data & Statistics
• U.S. Civil Rights Data Collection

University of North Carolina (Higher Education)

• Stats, Data, & Reports

Back to subject list

N.C. State Board of Elections

• Absentee Data
• Election Results Dashboard
• Historical Election Results Data (2000 - present)
• Voter History Data (2012 - present)
• Voter Registration Data 

Federal Election Commission (FEC)

• Campaign Finance Statistics (1975 - present)

Back to subject list

Environmental Protection Agency

• Air data--provides data back to 1980 in down to city level in some cases.
• Chemical Data Reporting
• Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) 

N.C. Dept. of Environmental Quality

• Division of Coastal Management
  • Coastal Management Science and Data
• Division of Air Quality
  • Air Quality Reports 
  • Emissions Report
• Division of Marine Fisheries
  • Fisheries Statistics
• Division of Waste Management
  • Recycling Data, Annual Reports and Publications
  • Waste Management Science, Data and Reports
• Division of Water Resources
  • Data, Statistics, & Maps
• National Wetlands Inventory, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
  • Data by State
  • Wetlands Data Layer
  • Wetlands Mapper
• Science on a Sphere (NOAA)

Back to subject list

N.C. Association of County Commissioners

• County Budget and Tax

N.C. Dept. of Revenue

• Reports and Statistics

• Statistical Abstract of North Carolina Taxes

N.C. Dept. of State Treasurer

• Financial Analysis Tools & Reports

N.C. Office of State Budget and Management

• Certified Budget
• Prior Certified Budgets (2003 - )

U.S. Census Bureau

• Annual Survey of State and Local Government Finances (1983 - present)
• Annual Survey of State Government Finances (1992 - present)
• Census of Governments (1992 - 2017)
• Public Sector

Back to subject list

COVID-19

• CDC
  • U.S. States Data
  • U.S County Data
  • U.S. Testing Data 
• NCDHHS
  • North Carolina Respiratory Virus Summary Dashboard
• U.S. Census Bureau
  • Household Pulse Survey Data Tables
• USA Spending
  • COVID-19 Spending Data 

Centers for Disease Control

• Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
• CDC Wonder: Online Databases
• Data & Statistics
• Vital Statistics (1890-2003)

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, (CMS.gov)

• Data Compendium
• Medicare.gov
  • Datasets
• National Vital Statistics System
  • Birth Data
• WONDER (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research)

N.C. Dept. of Health and Human Services

• N.C Division of Aging and Adult Services
  • Data Reports
• N.C .Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services
• N.C. State Center for Health Statistics
  • Archived Publications -by title/date (back to 1915)
  • N.C. Health Atlas
  • N.C. Health Data Query System
  • Publications by Topic
  • Statistics and Reports- Vital Statistics

State Library of North Carolina

• N.C. Digital Collections
  • Health Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau

• Health Insurance
• Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE)

Back to subject list

U.S. Census Bureau

• American Housing Survey
• Housing Vacancies and Homeownership 
• New Residential Construction
• Residential Improvements and Repairs, Historical Data

U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development

• Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R)
  • HUD User Dataset
  •  Assisted Housing, National and Local Data

Back to subject list

Dept. of Public Instruction

• State Salary Schedules, Public Schools

Economic Policy Institute

• State of Working America Data Library

N.C. Dept. of Commerce

• Labor & Economic Analysis Division
  • D4: Demand Driven Data Delivery System
• Workforce WARN (Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification) Reports 

N.C. Dept. of Labor

• Occupational Safety & Health, Statistical Reports

N.C. Office of State Human Resources

• Employee Statistics
• N.C. State Employment Government Statistics

Prices and Wages by Decade: University Missouri Libraries (1700's -present)

U.S. Census Bureau

• Equal Employment Opportunity Tabulation
• Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics
• Quarterly Workforce Indicator

U.S. Dept. of Labor

• Statistics
• Bureau of Labor Statistics
  • Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject
• State Occupational Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (in cooperation with N.C. Dept. of Labor)

Back to subject list

N.C. Judicial Branch

• Court Data

National Center for Education Statistics

• Academic and School Library Statistics

N.C. Public Library Statistics, State Library of NC

Back to subject list

Division of Marine Fisheries

• Fisheries Statistics

Back to subject list

Census Bureau

• ACS Migration/Geographic Mobility Data Tables (2000-2019)
• Geographic Mobility: 2019-2020
• Great Migration, 1910-1970
• Historical Migration/Geographic Mobility Tables, Current Population Survey (1948-2020)
• State-to-State Migration Flows, American Community Survey

Dept. of Homeland Security

• Immigration Data

IRS

• SOI Tax Stats - County to County Migration Data Files (2004-2011)
• SOI Tax Stats, NC Migration (2004-2011)
• SOI Tax Stats, US Migration (2004-2011)

Migration Policy Institute

• State Immigration Data Profiles
• Maps

University of Wisconsin

• Net Migration Estimates, Patterns for U.S. Counties (1950's -2000s)

Back to subject list

Council on Foreign Relations

• Demographics of the U.S. Military

Department of Defense

• Defense Casualty Analysis System
  • Summary Data
    • U.S. Military Casualties: Conflicts 1775-1996
    • U.S. Active Duty Military Deaths: 1980-2021
    • U.S. Active Duty Military Deaths: Race/Ethnicity Summary
• Military One Source: Data, Research, and Statistics 
  • Military Community Demographics 

U.S. Dept. of Veteran Affairs

• National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
  • State/Territories Summary Reports

U.S. NAVY

• A Guide to U. S. Military Casualty Statistics

Back to subject list

N.C. Center for Geographic Information and Analysis

• N.C. One Map

N.C. Dept. of Commerce

• AccessNC

N.C. Rural Center

• Data Visualizations
• Latest Research

N.C. State Data Center, NC OSBM

• Facts & Figures by County Geography
• LINC: Log Into North Carolina
• State Demographer Data (Estimates, projections, and more)

U.S. Census Bureau

• QuickFacts 

Back to subject list

U.S. Census Bureau

• Historical County Level Poverty Estimates Tool (1960-2010)
• Income and Poverty in the United States: 2019
• Poverty thresholds
• Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE)​
  • Interactive Data Too 

Back to subject list

National Survey of Fishing, Hunting, and Wildlife-Associated Recreation, Census Bureau

• N.C.
• U.S.

North Carolina State Parks

Visitor Use Statistics, National Park Service

Back to subject list

The Association of Religion Data Archive (ARDA)

U.S. Religious Landscape Survey, The Pew Forum on Religion and Life

Back to subject list

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence

• State-By-State
• Statistics

N.C. Coalition to end Homelessness

• PIT (Point-in-Time) Count Data

RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network)

• Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau

• Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates 

U.S. Health and Human Services

• Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) 

U.S. Dept. of Justice

• Hate Crime Statistics

U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness

• N.C. Homelessness Statistics
• State Statistics

Back to subject list

N.C. Broadband, N.C. Dept. of Commerce

• Broadband Survey Dashboards
• Data & Reports

Pew Research Center

• Internet &Technology

Nielsen 

• Quarantined Consumers TV and Social Media

U.S. Census Bureau

• Computer and Internet Use
• E-Commerce Statistics (E-Stats)

Back to subject list

Federal Aviation Administration

• Data & Research

N.C. Dept. of Transportation

• Crash Data and Maps
• N.C. Pedestrian and Bicycle Crash Data Tool
• N.C. Work Zone Statistics

N.C. SBI

• N.C. Traffic Stop Statistics 

N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission

• Boating Accidents and Fatalities 

U.S. Dept. of Transportation

• Bureau of Transportation Statistics
  • Statistical Products and Data
• Federal Highway Administration
  • Census Transportation Planning Products (with US Census Bureau)

​​​​​​​Back to subject list

U.S. Statistical Abstracts (1878-2012)

Back to subject list

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association (NOAA)

• Climate Analyses and Statistics
• National Weather Service
  • Severe Weather Statistics
  • Weather Related Fatality and Injury Statistics

Back to subject list