Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of African American Education in N.C.: Government Publications & Manuscript Collections

Primary Source & Manuscript Collections

This list contains links to manuscript and other archival collections related to African American educational history. It includes institutions around the state of North Carolina and across the U.S.


Bennett College, Archives & Special Collections. http://holgatedigitallibrary.bennett.edu:2011/cdm/

Charlotte Hawkins Brown Museum (Palmer Institute), North Carolina Historic Sites. http://www.nchistoricsites.org/chb/

DigitalNC. North Carolina HBCU History. http://www.digitalnc.org/blog/north-carolina-hbcu-history-available-on-digitalnc/

Elizabeth City University. Special Collections. http://www.ecsu.edu/academics/library/archives/collections/special-collections.html

Fayetteville State University Archives and Special Collections. http://library.uncfsu.edu/archives

International Civil Rights Center and Museum, Greensboro, NC. https://www.sitinmovement.org/

Johnson C. Smith University Archives. http://library.jcsu.edu/archives/

Livingstone College Archives and Special Collections. http://www.livingstone.edu/academics/andrew-carnegie-library/archives/

North Carolina Digital Collections. African American Education.  http://digital.ncdcr.gov/cdm/home/collections/african-american-education

North Carolina Central University, James E. Shepard Memorial Library, University Archives, Records and History. http://web.nccu.edu/shepardlibrary/about/dept_archives.html

North Carolina Central University Library Special Collections. http://contentdm.auctr.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/nccu

North Carolina Central University Digital Collections. http://contentdm.auctr.edu/cdm/search/collection/nccu

North Carolina A&T University, University Archives. http://www.library.ncat.edu/resources/archives/

North Carolina A&T University, Digital Collections. http://www.library.ncat.edu/resources/digital.html

St. Augstine's University Collections. http://library.st-aug.edu/collections.html

Shaw University Archives. http://www.shawu.edu/archives.aspx

Winston-Salem State University Archives and Digital Collections. https://www.wssu.edu/cg-okelly-library/services/archives/default-m.aspx

Government Publications

North Carolina State Government Publications and Documents Related to Black Education in North Carolina


Available in digital format online at North Carolina Digital Collections: 

African American Education Collection to 1950: http://digital.ncdcr.gov/cdm/home/collections/african-american-education

Search results for items related to African American education in North Carolina: https://goo.gl/bZtEGX

Print collections available at the State Library of North Carolina: https://goo.gl/K5zPRg

School Yearbooks

North Carolina high school, college and university yearbooks have been digitized and are accessible from:


The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center (DigitalNC):  https://www.digitalnc.org/collections/yearbooks/

Internet Archive:  https://archive.org/search.php?query=yearbooks