#EverythingNC: Data & Demographics

The NCDATA listserv is provided by the joint efforts of the North Carolina State Data Center, its Affiliate Network and the State Library of North Carolina as a forum for the discussion of Census data and demographics issues and questions. The list also carries announcements about upcoming data releases and news from the Census Bureau as well as local training opportunities.

The State Demographics branch of the Office of State Budget and Management is responsible for producing population estimates and projections. The annual estimates of the population of North Carolina counties and municipalities are used in the distribution of state shared revenues to local governments. County and state population projections, available by age, race (white/other) and sex, are used for long range planning.

Includes detailed North Carolina census data searchable via NC Census Lookup. Users can build a custom report or view preformatted information. Choose from available modules, including occupation data, migration data, commuting data, county & municipality profiles, social, economic & housing characteristics, and population data.

With AccessNC, users can find properties statewide that meet their business needs. This system allows users to map properties and create custom demographic reports for site-specific locations selected. From community demographic reports to labor market and education data, AccessNC lets users access the data needed to make important business decisions.

The North Carolina Office of State Budget and Management develops, collects, and organizes a wide variety of statistics. Find NC population growth trends, county & municipal estimates, county projections, and data related to revenue and budget.

Log Into North Carolina (LINC) is an interactive data retrieval service containing historical information for over 900 data items and a variety of geographic areas within the state. Topics include population, labor force, education, transportation, revenue, agriculture, vital statistics, energy and utilities, and other topics for a variety of geographic areas within the state. Most data are available for the state and all 100 counties. Some items are available for municipalities. Others, especially census data, may be retrieved for tracts and townships.

From the US Small Business Administration Office of Advocacy. The Office of Advocacy’s Small Business Profiles are an annual analysis of each state’s small business activities. Each profile gathers the latest information from key federal data-gathering agencies to provide a snapshot of small business health and economic activity. This year’s profiles report on state economic growth and employment; small business employment, industry composition, and turnover; plus business owner demographics and county-level employment change.

Information from the North Carolina Field Office, operated in conjunction with the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Includes a searchable database of Quick Stats, a North Carolina Agricultural Overview, the Census of Agriculture for North Carolina, as well as county estimates, farm reports, the annual statistical bulletin, and more.

From the North Carolina Healthy Start Foundation. Includes overall NC statistics as well as an interactive state map to select statistics by county.

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics. Site includes statistics and reports, as well as an interactive database providing customized reports of health data by age, race, county, etc., and an interactive health statistics website providing statistical numerical data on the health status of North Carolinians and the state of North Carolina's health care system.

The Division of Aging and Adult Services works to promote the independence and enhance the dignity of North Carolina's older adults, persons with disabilities and their families through a community based system of opportunities, services, benefits and protections. This site includes demographic and statistical data for the public and network partners.

KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.

From the NC Department of Public Safety. Includes the Annual Summary Report, detailed crime statistics by year, traffic stop statistics, and more.

Includes state elections data and data on voter registration, voter turnout, and more.

Includes North Carolina Pupil Transportation Data

Includes research, data, and statistics on air quality, coastal management, geological survey, environmental assistance and customer service, marine fisheries, mitigation, waste management, and water resources.

Fiscal Management monitors fiscal and accounting standards prescribed for local governments and public authorities by The Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act and provides guidance in following generally accepted accounting principles.

The Appalachian Regional Commission compiles data, creates maps, and conducts research and evaluations on key economic, demographic, and quality of life factors that affect the current and future development prospects of the Appalachian Region. The most frequently requested reports, maps, and data are available online. Data reports can be run for specific North Carolina counties in the region.

Explore facts about the Charlotte region from among 11 topic areas, compare individual counties to the metro region and the state, and explore in-depth data from partner organizations.

Find demographic information on Eastern North Carolina, including population & growth, median age, ethnic diversity, SAT scores, educational attainment, income levels, and travel and tourism expenditures.

Find demographic information and build custom reports on Southeastern North Carolina, including population growth trends, population by county, household and per capita income, and more.