Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
North Carolina State Capitol
AccessNC provides a wide range of statistics and other data, both state and national, which can be compiled in customized reports. The database includes the following sources of information: County and state reports, Maps, Business search, Labor statistics, Top N.C. employers.
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Part of UNC Chapel Hill's Documenting the American South project, this is the digitized version of the 26 volume Colonial and State Records publication. The Colonial and State Records of North Carolina is a twenty-six volume set of transcribed and printed documents covering North Carolina's history from its founding to shortly after the ratification of the United States Constitution. Published between 1886 and 1907, the set also includes a cumulative index, in four volumes, and an introductory essay in each volume. The thirty volumes contain a total of 28,840 pages of primary and secondary historical materials.
NC State Government Information
Learn about North Carolina government, services, agencies, jobs, and more from the official NC government web site.
North Carolina Digital Collections
The North Carolina Digital Collections contain over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, and bring together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
North Carolina LINC
Log Into North Carolina (LINC) is an interactive data retrieval service containing historical information for over 900 data items and a variety of geographic areas within the state. Topics include population, labor force, education, transportation, revenue, agriculture, vital statistics, energy and utilities, and other topics for a variety of geographic areas within the state.
North Carolina Manual
Produced by the Secretary of State's office, the North Carolina Manual a thorough historical reference source for North Carolina state government and politics. It is available from 1874 to 2012. This publication is no longer published.
North Carolina State Government Publications - GHL Catalog
Find catalog records describing print and digital NC state publications.
North Carolina State Government Publications Collection - CONTENTdm
A collection of more than 30,000 born digital and digitized state government publications. The collection includes Wildlife in NC (1937 to 2011), the North Carolina Manual (1874-2012), NC Vital Statistics (1914 to current), NC Agricultural Statistics (1928 to current) and many other serial and monographic publications.
North Carolina State Government Website Archives
Archived state government websites back to 1996 and archived social media back to 2012. This program is a service of the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
State Agency Databases - North Carolina
Part of GODORTs State Agency Databases Project, this is an annotated list of databases produced by North Carolina State Agencies listed by database subject.
State Publications Research Guides
Guides on finding and using the state budget, financial publications, transportation publications, and other topics created by GHL staff.
2017 County Map Book
North Carolina Association of County Commissioners produced this book of data and map visualizations that highlight demographic, economic, health, and educational information. There is a special focus on economic development, children, and opioids.
County and Municipal Government in North Carolina
A 2007 monograph published by UNC's School of Government that covers local government basics (governing boards, managers, civil liability, ethics), citizen involvement, transparency, finance, planning, services, and other topics.
A list of links to NC County websites, compiled by UNC's Knapp Library. The list also includes links to Chamber of Commerce, Economic Development, Visitors Bureaus, Tourism Authorities, and other web sites.
Run reports from the Department of Commerce's AccessNC database for each county. Reports include demographics, commuting, education, housing, income, employment, quality of life, and business information.
Directory of State and County Officials of North Carolina
Available in print and online from 1920 to 2014/15 through the GHL. This title is no longer published.
North Carolina's 100 Counties
These profiles were originally published in the Encyclopedia of North Carolina and are now found in NCpedia. They include current and defunct NC counties, current population estimates, land area, and links to additional resources.
Cities in North Carolina
Knapp Library's (UNC School of Government) list of city, town, and village websites.
Forms of North Carolina City Government
This database, from UNC's School of Government, allows users to view and search information pertaining to the form of government and method of election for each incorporated municipality (city, town, and village) in North Carolina.
Municipal Population Estimates
Standard 2015 population estimates, revised standard population estimates for 2010 to 2015, certified 2016 population estimates compiled by the Office of State Budget and Management.
An alphabetical list of North Carolina cities, includes population and county.
North Carolina Municipal and County Codes
The American Legal Publishing Company's library of North Carolina Codes of Ordinances (laws or regulations).
North Carolina Municipal Codes
Find laws created by some local governments in the Municipal Code Corporation's library.
Beaufort Lab: NOAA Southeast Fisheries Science Center
The NOAA laboratory in Beaufort is a partnership among three entities: NOAA Ocean Service, which owns the laboratory facility; North Carolina Estuarine Research Reserve; and NOAA Fisheries Service Southeast Fisheries Science Center.
Research is organized into three Branches: Fisheries Ecosystems; Protected Resources; and Sustainable Fisheries.
EPA in North Carolina
Find links to EPA information about recent news, hot topics in NC, environmental information, and social media sites. EPA's work in North Carolina is managed from the Region 4 office in Atlanta.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Wilmington District
Established in 1884, Wilmington District was initially charged with navigation channel improvements to rivers and harbors and fortifications (Fort Caswell). With more than 400 employees in North Carolina and Virginia, the Wilmington District team provides expertise across a wide range of disciplines-from engineering, architecture, design, construction, hydropower, recreation management, hydrology and environmental stewardship. Wilmington District supports and serves the federal interests of our nation by developing and facilitating innovative and effective solutions that meet engineering, environmental and emergency management needs for North Carolina, the U.S. Army and the Nation.
U.S. Commercial Service - North Carolina
The U.S. Commercial Service is the lead trade promotion agency of the U.S. government. With offices in Raleigh, Greensboro, and Charlotte,Dept. of Commerce of trade professionals stand by ready to assist your company to succeed internationally.
USDA: Farm Service Agency - North Carolina
The FSA serves all farmers, ranchers and agricultural partners through the delivery of effective, efficient agricultural programs for all Americans.
USGS: North Carolina
The USGS researches, monitors, models and forecasts the effects of such change on the Nation's resources. The resulting information and products help policymakers, natural resource managers, and the public make informed decisions about the management of resources on which they depend.
Veterans Affairs Locations in North Carolina
Find links to VA Medical Centers, Outpatient clinics, Community-based outpatient clinics, Vet Centers, VISN, Reginal benefit office, Intake Site (Pre-Discharge Claims Assistance), and National Cemeteries.
North Carolina Soil Surveys
Soil survey information is regularly updated and posted to the Web Soil Survey, which is the official source for current information. The Web Soil Survey provides both tabular and spatial data and allows you to create a custom soil resource report for your specific area of interest. In the table below, clicking on a survey area that is listed as "current" takes you to the Web Soil Survey.