Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image of Oscar and Leala Smoot Knox family, Cabarrus and Iredell Counties, NC, c.1909 courtesy of State Archives of North Carolina.
North Carolina Genealogy Websites
County & Local Genealogical Societies & Genealogy Websites
localhistory: NC Local and Family History Listserv
The localhistory listserv is a forum for staff in libraries, archives, and other cultural heritage collections can share questions, information, and announcements relating to local history and genealogy services, materials, and research.
North Carolina Government & Heritage Library: Online Resources & Collections
We provide numerous ways to help with your genealogy goals. Our online tutorials, digital collections, family records, newspapers, microfilm, books and more can help you get started or break through a brick wall. Got a question about materials or research strategy? We are here to help with that too!
Beginning Genealogy Resources Guide
A companion guide to RootsMOOC. A list of print and online resources useful to the study of family history and genealogy. Many of the materials mentioned are available through the NC Government & Heritage Library.
Using Tax Records for Genealogical Research
Tax records are a valuable genealogical research tool. This guide provides tips and information to help you learn to navigate through the records.
RootsMOOC: An Introduction to Genealogy and Family History Research
The State Library of North Carolina’s Government & Heritage Library teamed up with Wake Forest University’s Z. Smith Reynolds Library for RootsMOOC, a massive open online course on starting genealogical research. The development of course materials was funded by a Library Services and Technology Act grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The course was originally presented on the Canvas network and materials are still available online in the evaluation copy. The course videos from the Government and Heritage Library and the Z. Smith Reynolds Library are also available online.
How-To: Finding Slave Records
Researching ancestors believed to have been enslaved can be challenging, since the record trail is spotty prior to 1865. The step-by-step guide here can help.
North Carolina Newspaper Locator
Search for North Carolina newspapers by county, town, or newspaper title and date range. Database indexes newspaper microfilm housed at the Government & Heritage Library.
Blog discussing the collections and services of the Government and Heritage Library, including posts on genealogy.
The online encyclopedia about all things "North Carolina."
North Carolina Gazetteer
North Carolina geographical dictionary. Content is from the North Carolina Gazetteer, edited by William S. Powell and Michael Hill. Copyright 2010 by the University of North Carolina Press. Used by permission of the publisher.
North Carolina Digital Collections
A joint initiative with the State Archives of North Carolina. Contains over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, and bring together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
North Carolina Family Records Online
A joint initiative with the State Archives of North Carolina. Part of the North Carolina Digital Collections, this resource is comprised of North Carolina family history materials from the holdings of the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina. The searchable online collection includes North Carolina Family Bibles, indexed marriage and death announcements from five NC newspapers (1799 to1893), copies of genealogical research donated to the Government and Heritage Library and photographs of headstones and general views of the Raleigh Hebrew Cemetery and the Hebrew section of Historic Oakwood Cemetery in Raleigh.
State Archives of North Carolina: Online Resources & Collections
Archives Information Circulars
Informational essays written by State Archives staff as introductions to State Archives resources and various areas of research, including North Carolina Revolutionary War records, marriage bonds, records related to African Americans and so much more.
History for All the People
Blog discussing projects, news, and interesting documents from the State Archives. [Post about genealogical research at the State Archives can be found at https://ncarchives.wordpress.com/genealogical-research.]
Alien Registration and Naturalization
Part of the North Carolina Digital Collections. Contains Alien Registration and Naturalization materials from the holdings of the State Archives of North Carolina. It includes volumes and other county records relating to the naturalization of foreign-born citizens in which the clerk of superior court acted as federal agent. Volumes may include Declaration of Intent to Become a Citizen, Petitions for Naturalization, and Alien Registration.
North Carolina Troops, 1861-1865: A Roster Cumulative Index
Indexed entries for all men who served in North Carolina Civil War units and are listed in the multi-volume set North Carolina Troops, 1861-1865: A Roster, published by the North Carolina Office of Archives and History. Database also contains entries for all the people, places, and military units mentioned in the North Carolina Troops series.
Online Resources & Collections from Other Sources
UNC Digital Collections (UNC Libraries)
Digital collections focused on North Carolina and the American South. Subjects include the experience of African Americans, the Civil War, the arts, economics, and politics.
North Carolina Maps (UNC Libraries)
Online collection of historic North Carolina maps. Contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and includes maps for each of North Carolina's one hundred counties. Featuring maps from the State Archives of North Carolina, the North Carolina Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center.
Documenting the American South (UNC Libraries)
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides online access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Colonial and State Records (UNC Libraries)
The Colonial and State Records are a 26-volume set of transcribed records that cover NC history beginning in 1622 and ending with the 1790 census of North Carolina. The set has been fully digitized and made searchable online through Documenting the American South.
Digital Library on American Slavery (UNC Greensboro Libraries)
Digital resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South. Information included on: Race and Slavery Petitions, NC Runaway Slave Advertisements, Buncombe County Slave Deeds, and New Hanover County Slave Deeds.
DigitalNC (North Carolina Digital Heritage Center)
Digital portal that provides access to original materials from libraries, museums, and archives across North Carolina. The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online.
Useful Print Resources for North Carolina Research