Image of Professor Jacob's School, early 1900s, Lake Waccamaw, Columbus County, North Carolina; courtesy of the State Archives of North Carolina.
State Library of North Carolina
Free educator resources from NCpedia, the encyclopedia of all things North Carolina. Includes lesson plans, activities, printable
bookmarks, NC "Fast Facts," and ways to incorporate NCpedia into the curriculum. Also listservs, booklists, and programming
information from the Youth Services Consultant in the SLNC Library Development Section.
State Archives of North Carolina
The Division of Archives and Records has a vast collection of primary resource materials which can be used in education, including
diaries, maps, letters, memoirs, photographs, and government records. Many of these materials are available through our online
resources and can be aligned to national and state teaching standards.
North Carolina Aquariums
Explore Fort Fisher's climate change curriculum, as well as lesson plans, instructor's guides, and other resources about sea turtles.
NC Department of Agriculture and Consumer Sciences
Includes resources for teachers and students at all levels, from activity pages and coloring sheets to information about NC's top
agricultural commodities and food fact sheets. Also includes an agritourism directory to find local farm field trip destinations.
NC Department of Environmental Quality
Resources for teachers and students for Air, Water, Stormwater, Recycling and Geology. Includes lesson plans and activities for
grades K-12.
NC Department of Transportation
The N.C. Department of Transportation's Education Initiatives Program works to advance a wide range of programs and activities that
focus heavily on science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) – beginning in kindergarten and all the way to graduate
school.
North Carolina Historic Sites
Many of the NC Historic Sites have associated educator resources, which may range from guided activities to use in conjunction
with a site visit to virtual tours to activities or discussions which can be completed without visiting in person.
NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
Natural and Cultural Resources offers students, teachers, parents and anyone with a thirst for learning a number of resources on
historical, cultural, arts, and nature-related topics. Also sign up for and view back issues of the DNCR Educators' Newsletter.
North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences
The North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences offers natural history programs, workshops and trips. Use the Museum's learning
resources and online adventures to expand your natural science knowledge during a Museum visit, at home, in the field and in the
classroom.
North Carolina State Fair
Includes printable coloring pages, a scavenger hunt, a State Fair timeline, field trip information, and details on how to order the 2017
State Fair Newspapers in Education supplement.
North Carolina Symphony
The North Carolina Symphony leads the most extensive music education program of any symphony orchestra and provides training
and resources for teachers in alignment with the curriculum set by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
Learn more about North Carolina’s wildlife and habitats by signing up for classes or workshops, visiting an education center or
checking out videos and publications on a number of wildlife-related topics.