Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Old Supreme Court Building
Old Supreme Court Building about 1930; photo courtesy of the North Carolina State Archives.
Statutes, Bills, & Session Laws
North Carolina Legislation/Bills
Search and browse 30 years of bills, find the vote history, and see the Governor's actions on the bills.
NC General Statutes
The Statutes on the North Carolina General Assembly website reflect changes made in the 2016 Regular Session. The changes do not include the 4th Special Session held in December 2016.
North Carolina Session Laws
Links to individual volumes of the Session Laws from 1777 to current.
North Carolina Supreme Court opinions from 1998 to current and North Carolina Court of Appeals opinions from 1998 to current.
Court Reports Digital Collection
This collection has two titles: North Carolina Reports (1778 - ongoing) and North Carolina Court of Appeals Reports (1968 - ongoing). The reports do not contain the entire record relating to Supreme Court and Court of Appeals cases. Instead, they contain information about the final outcome of cases heard in North Carolina’s Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.
Judicial Branch Pocket Guide
A publication about the Judicial Branch.
The website of the North Carolina Court System, find contact information, judicial directory, information for citizens, and information about the courts.
Quick Facts about the North Carolina Court System
A number of fact sheets provide information about the N.C. Judicial Branch and the N.C. Administrative Office of the Courts.
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
The court posts all issued opinions and selected orders daily beginning at 2:30 p.m. All opinions and selected orders issued by the court from 1996 to date are available in a searchable database.
The Rules Division of the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) compiles, produces, and publishes the North Carolina Administrative Code. Rules have the same weight of authority as statutes, case law and constitutions.
House and Senate Journals
Find the full text of all of the House and Senate Journals from 1822 to current.
Legislative Study Commission Reports
The North Carolina Legislative Library makes selected full text legislative studies reports available. Please be aware these on-line reports are not official and may be incomplete. Official versions are on file in the Legislative Library.
NC General Assembly Audio Broadcasts
The North Carolina General Assembly broadcasts live, real-time audio of the daily House and Senate sessions, press conferences in the Press Conference Room, and meetings held in the Appropriations and Finance Committee Rooms. Refer to the Legislative Calendar for meeting and press conference schedules.
North Carolina State Bar
The North Carolina State Bar was created in 1933 by the North Carolina General Assembly as the government agency responsible for the regulation of the legal profession in North Carolina. The State Bar currently regulates over 27,000 licensed lawyers.