On April 1, 2022, in accordance with the "72-year rule," the 1950 U.S. Census was made available for public access and use. And although the Census data itself is collected and organized and its statistical information presented by the U.S. Census Bureau, the original census records are held by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). And so the release of this census has been made by NARA.
The 1950 Census collected some of the same information as earlier censuses, but it differed in many ways from earlier censuses. These included: use of computer technology to process and tabulate data; new procedures to increase the accuracy of data collected and coverage, including training of enumerators (census takers); collection of data about certain populations living overseas; and development of other census collection and intervals.
What you need to know
Researchers may access the 1950 Census via the NARA website.
The 1950 Census is arranged by enumeration district (ED). You can find the ED by specifying the sate and county.
The National Archives provides an index of names using optical character recognition (OCR). OCR is a computer process that converts images of typed and/or handwritten text into machine (i.e. computer) recognizable characters in order to make that text searchable by computer programs, and thereby, human users. While OCR is invaluable as a tool for accessing and working with textual images, it is not 100% accurate or complete. For the 1950 Census, the OCR of the text will help many researchers locate names from the outset of the release. However, because OCR is imperfect, some names may not be immediately available to access via the search feature on the NARA site. NARA will be assisted in developing the searchable index of names in the census through volunteer efforts to find and submit names. As time goes by, the name search will only continue to improve. Until each name appearing on the 1950 Census is indexed, extra steps may be needed to locate individuals they cannot find in the initial index.
Here are a few tips for getting started with searching:
1. Start by visiting the National Archives' Official 1950 Census website (https://1950census.archives.gov/). If you cannot find the person you are looking for, go to step two.
2. Find the enumeration district. If you have the person's address in 1950, use the 1950 "Enumeration District Finder" at https://stevemorse.org/census/unified.html. Current addresses may not always work as many may have changed since 1950.
3. If you do not have the individual(s) address in 1950, try to locate the closest year you can. This step is necessary because you will need to identify the 1950 enumeration district to find an individual. See below for other types of resources that can be used to locate addresses.
4. Scroll through pages when "not at home" is indicated. The enumerator sometimes referred to another page number when they had to revisit a household. If a page number is referenced in the "not at home entry," look for that number in the upper corner of the page.
5. If you still cannot find your ancestor try these tips:
Resources for locating a North Carolina 1950 address
If the individuals lived in a rural area, find out which township, county subdivision, or parish it was. According to the National Archives, the enumeration district may not match that of 1940 Census, due to the increase of population following WWII. Unfortunately, postal zip codes cannot help researchers, as the Zone Improvement Codes were not introduces until 1963.
The "Indian Reservation Schedules" enumerated those living on reservations. The questionnaires show tribe and clan, name, and % of Indian blood. Other questions ask whether they could read or write, and speak English or other languages. Native Americans living on reservations were first enumerated on both the standard population form (P1) and on the Indian Reservation Schedule (P8), which was a one-sided, one-page form. For North Carolina, note that the Qualla Boundary of the Eastern Band of the Cherokee is not a reservation and names can be searched in the regular Census of Population and Housing form, P1.
Learn more:
The U.S. Departments of Defense and State and the U.S. Maritime Administration aided the Census Bureau by providing information on personnel and dependents overseas. It was only used for statistical purposes and the schedules with names are not available. There is information on military personnel stationed in Alaska, Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Panama Canal Zone, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands of the United States.
People who worked or lived on American boats or ships were enumerated in the place where they docked. Look for the enumeration district in the city or town's port.
Learn more:
The 1950 Census enumerators filled out an infant card in addition to enumerating infants on the Population Schedule. Parents of infants born in January, February, or March 1950 were asked additional questions about the place of birth, hospital name, birth attendant (whether doctor, midwife, nurse, etc.), and the mother's maiden name. Unfortunately, children who died before April 1, 1950, were not enumerated, and the infant mortality rate was higher than it is today. The National Office of Vital Statistics compared these cards against birth registrations to ensure the children were registered. These records are not available, but they did help to make the 1950 count more accurate than previous censuses.
Learn more:
North Carolina Population
Housing
Number of dwelling units in 1950 was 45,983,398. Of those units:
Education
High School Graduates
College Graduates
Learn more:
NARA: 1950 Census main page
U.S. Census Bureau
The 1950 Census had multiple schedules. Although Alaska and Hawaii did not achieve statehood until 1959, they were enumerated along with the contiguous U.S. and U.S. territories.
1950 Census forms: notable facts about enumeration and data collected
Population: OCR indexed
Unified Census ED (Enumeration District) Finder: by Stephen P. Morse and Joel D. Weintraub
Family Search: United States Census Maps
Learn more:
Once a Decade: Exploring the 1950 Census Release webinar with Kelly Karres of the U.S. Census Bureau. SLNC Government and Heritage Library April 7, 2022.