The Government & Heritage Library in Raleigh, N.C., provides access to U.S. Census records in multiple forms. Search our library's catalogs and collections containing Census materials covering North Carolina, other states and the U.S.
Population Census (1790-1930): Microform-National Archives Microfilm Adult Reference Microforms (not all states are available)
Agricultural Schedule (1850-1880): Questions varied by year. All schedules show the name of the farm owner and information on crop production and livestock as well as acres of land. GHL has all years for North Carolina. There are also several published abstracts in the library’s reading room.
Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Schedule (1880): Also known as the DDD schedule, this was several schedules in one. It included the insane, “idiots”, deaf, blind, homeless children, prisoners, paupers, and “indigent” people who lived on the public’s expense. GHL has North Carolina on microfilm as well as for TN, SC, GA, and VA
Industry and Manufacturing schedules (1850-1880): The Industry schedules of 1850-1870 contained information on manufactured products and statistics about businesses. The Manufacturing schedule of 1880 included more business types. Industry schedules included businesses producing goods valued at least $500 per year. GHL has all years for the Industry and Manufacturing schedules on microfilm.
Mortality Schedule (1850-1880): Information collected about those who died in the ear prior to census day. Information varied year to year, but the following information was collected every year: name, gender, age, race, month of birth, occupation, and cause of death. GHL has microfilm for all years in North Carolina and published abstracts for many states in the reading room.
Slave Schedules (1850-1860): 1790-1840 census listed enslaved people in groups by age ranges and gender. In 1850 and 1860, there was a separate slave schedule that listed enslaved people by age, rather than age ranges, and gender; however, they did not list the name of the enslaved people. GHL has both years on microfilm for North Carolina. There are also several published abstracts in the reading room.
Social Statistics (1850-1870): Taken only for a specific area in a county, the Social Statistics schedule gathered information about communities. GHL has 1850-1860 on microfilm in the research room. Some information gathered includes:
Veteran’s Schedule (1840,1890): The 1840 and 1890 veteran's schedules list information on those who served in the Revolutionary War and Civil War. In the 1840 schedule, these were men who were living pensioners of the Revolutionary War only, while the 1890 schedule named Civil War widows if the veteran was deceased. It should be noted that these were union veterans. GHL has this 1890 schedule on microfilm and the 1840 schedule can be accessed online.
Census Microfilm and Indexes at the GHL
Please see a staff member for assistance with census microfilm.
The Government & Heritage Library provides access to many online subscription databases that feature the U.S. Census. Ancestry Library Edition is likely the most well-known. Patrons can visit our library on-site in Raleigh, N.C. to gain access to our library's subscription to Ancestry Library Edition, as well as other notable genealogy databases, including American Ancestors and HeritageQuest.
Where to find:
At the SLNC Government & Heritage Library:
*access with a SLNC GHL library card