Agriculture in North Carolina: Digital Resources: NC.gov

• Agriculture - NCpedia
  An assortment of articles related to agriculture in North Carolina.
• State Fair Digital Collection
  A collection of digitized North Carolina State Fair materials, including premium lists, programs, and other memorabilia. Originally created by the State Library of North Carolina as part of the Blue Ribbon Memories project. Some content contributed by the public.

North Carolina State Fair: the first 150 years
With an annual attendance of 800,000, the North Carolina State Fair is the state's largest event and is the largest ten-day agricultural fair in the United States. Published jointly with the North Carolina Department of Agriculture, Melton A. McLaurin provides a comprehensive account of the people, politics, and events that have shaped the annual autumn event.

• Agricultural History of North Carolina  A brief history of agriculture written by J. Paul Lilly, Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Soil Science, North Carolina State University.
• North Carolina Century Farms: 100 Years of Continuous Agricultural Heritage
  There are about 52,000 farms in North Carolina, but only about 1,800 have the distinct honor of being a N.C. Century Farm. North Carolina has a rich agricultural heritage and the Century Farm family program celebrates the many contributions farming has made to the state.

How does NC Rank?
The Agricultural Statistics Books  (1936/1939 - present) by the NCDA&CS Agricultural Statistics Division provides agriculture rankings for some of the most popular crops and livestock in addition to economic statistics.

• Historic Stagville
  Stagville was the largest plantation in the state during the Antebellum period. (NC Historic Sites, NC Department of Cultural Resources)
• Horne Creek Farm
  Once the Hauser family farm, Horne Creek enables visitors to experience farm life in North Carolina's northwestern Piedmont circa 1900. (NC Historic Sites, NC Department of Cultural Resources)
• Somerset Place
  During its 80 years as an active plantation (1785-1865), hundreds of acres were converted into high yielding fields of rice, corn, oats, wheat, beans, peas, and flax; sophisticated sawmills turned out thousands of feet of lumber. By 1865, Somerset Place was one of the upper South's largest plantations. Through one general tour, visitors explore the lives of the plantation's owners, enslaved community, employed whites, and free blacks. (NC Historic Sites, NC Department of Cultural Resources)
• Duke Homestead
  See the early home, factories, and farm where Washington Duke first grew and processed tobacco. His sons later founded The American Tobacco Company, the world's largest tobacco company. (NC Historic Sites, NC Department of Cultural Resources)
• North Carolina Farmers Markets
• Visit NC Farm Fresh Festivals
  Provides information about food related festivals throughout the year and farm locations across the state that are open to the public.

The NC Digital Collections from the Government & Heritage Library and the NC State Archives contain a variety of materials about agriculture in North Carolina.

• Census Collection
  Labor statistics
• State Publications Collection
• North Carolina Web Site Archives
  State agency web content

• NC Department of Agriculture
  Also provides a variety of resources and activities for children of all ages.
• North Carolina in the Global Economy
  This website presents and information on seven of North Carolina's key industries, including: banking, biotechnology, furniture, hog farming, information technology, textiles & apparel, and tobacco. (Current version is from 2014.)

North Carolina Wine & Grape Industry
North Carolina ranks 7th in United States wine production and is home to Biltmore Winery, the most visited winery in the country, and the world's largest muscadine wine producer, Duplin Winery.

Grape photo courtesy of NC Division of Tourism, Film and Sports Development, Raleigh, NC, USA.