A one-stop guide for state employees that contains resources covering history, science, health, technology, and legislative and law topics, as well as historical and current newspaper databases.
AccessNC (formerly EDIS) from the NC Department of Commerce is a place where you can search the unemployment rate, current NC public employment, businesses in NC, private NC employment, quarterly census information, and more.
The GHL's online catalog of all physical materials located on-site at the library in Raleigh. Many state and federal documents can be found in a digital format via the catalog. Some e-books and digitized materials are also included.
A single search box that can be used to search for materials contained in the GHL's classic catalog as well as online journal articles through many of our subscription databases and e-books.
Log Into North Carolina (LINC) is an interactive data retrieval service containing historical information for over 900 data items and a variety of geographic areas within the state.
The North Carolina Digital Collections contain over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina.
The world's largest network of library content and services! Search the collections of thousands of libraries near your community and around the world.
DPLA provides access to millions of materials held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions in a one-stop discovery experience.
(Requires SLNC library card)
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students, providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
This index provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
History and literature ebooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Open Bookshelf is a digital library collection of popular books free to download, formatted for modern devices, and handpicked by librarians from across the US.
(Requires SLNC library card)
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
(Accessible through June 30, 2020)
A temporary collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed due to COVID-19.
A downloadable ebook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time. This collection currently contains approximately 21,000 works.
