State Employees Research Guide: Legislation and Laws

Home page for North Carolina’s General Assembly. Includes links to House and Senate members, calendars, actions, audio and video.

A resource for state agencies and the public with questions about bills, laws, votes, codes, sessions, vetoes, or amendments.

Search for North Carolina house and senate bills and governor’s actions

From Wake Forest University law library a guide for North Carolina specific legal research, including common law, statutory code, administrative regulations, practical forms, secondary sources, journals, and much more.

A guide to help you understand the legislative process and how to find the history of a law.

Information gleaned from the home pages and websites of the 50 state legislatures, the District of Columbia and the territories. You can select to view specific website content materials (such as, bills, press rooms, statutes) from one state at a time.

Statutes include changes through September 27, 2019.

The Rules Division of the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) compiles, produces, and publishes the North Carolina Administrative Code. Rules have the same weight of authority as statutes, case law and constitutions.

Searchable database of session laws 1959-2020.

North Carolina’s constitution of 1971 – the most recent state constitution.

Decisions in the cases and explanations by North Carolina Supreme Court, or Court of Appeals.

Search for the date, time, and location of a court appearance, citation number, and more.

Search North Carolina federal court opinions from 1926 - present.

The world's largest collection of open access research papers! Contains over 188 million open access articles from over tens of thousands of journals.

DPLA provides access to millions of materials held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions in a one-stop discovery experience.

(Requires SLNC library card)
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students, providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

This index provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel.

(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.