State Employees Research Guide: Science, Medicine & Tech
A one-stop guide for state employees that contains resources covering history, science, health, technology, and legislative and law topics, as well as historical and current newspaper databases.
Use this page to find links to General Science Databases, Environment and Biology Databases, Medical and Psychology Databases, Technology Databases, and General Databases.
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
ScienceOpen is a freely accessible search and discovery platform that provides open access to more than 28 million articles in all areas of science. You need to register to view the full text of the articles, but registration is free.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
(Requires SLNC Library Card)
BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
A free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
(Requires SLNC Library Card)
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students, providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, including biology, botany, and environmental science.
A database from the U.S. Department of Agriculture featuring taxonomic, habitat, and geographic information of the plants in the United States and its territories.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
(Requires SLNC Library Card)
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
DPLA provides access to millions of materials held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions in a one-stop discovery experience.
(Requires SLNC library card)
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students, providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
This index provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for more than 1,701,101 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
(NC LIVE database - Requires SLNC library card or local library card)
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
