| Suggested Level | Category | Required Knowledge/Skill |
| 1 | Electronic resources | Know local policies related to patron privacy and patron accounts |
| 1 | Electronic resources | Determine due date, status, and location of items in the collection |
| 1 | Electronic resources | Perform a simple keyword, author, and title search in the library’s online catalog |
| 1 | Electronic resources | Know and show others how to check out items via self-check |
| 1 | Electronic resources | Place requests/holds on items in the collection |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Mastery of all electronic resources skills in Level 1 |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Use advanced search strategies such as ISBN, format, etc. |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Limit, restrict, expand, sort, and save searches |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Use ILS software to view, amend, and print borrower information such as items checked out, holds, fines and other blocks |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Accept and apply payment of fines |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Know local policies related to patron privacy, patron accounts, and managing materials |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Be familiar with finding and using online catalogs at other library systems |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Be familiar with the resources available through library NC LIVE, other consortium offerings, and locally purchased resources |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Know how to access electronic resources, point others to the resource, use the resource to answer questions, and show library users how to access it; assist patrons to select appropriate databases for their searches |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Know how to access locally created content such as libguides, pathfinders, digitized collections, and other locally created electronic content |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Search general and most locally relevant databases in NC LIVE and your local system proficiently |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Be familiar with finding and using online catalogs at other library systems |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Know who to contact for trouble-shooting help when needed |
| 2 | Electronic resources | Be aware of local policies and procedures for using virtual reference software |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Mastery of all electronic resources skills in Levels 1 and 2 |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Find, create, and modify all types of borrower records using circulation software |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Replace damaged or missing barcode |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Manage holds; add and remove blocks and notes to patron records |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Conduct an advanced technology reference interview |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Use and show others how to use database resources for citation purposes |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Know and use both basic and advanced search techniques |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Use limiters and expanders in each database level (full text, lexile level, related terms) |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Operate database article printing and email options (full text, selected text, email, citation only) |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Create database accounts, folders, and save database articles |
| 3 | Electronic resources | Access electronic resources, point others to the resource, use the resource to answer questions, and show library users how to access it; assist patrons to select appropriate databases for their searches |