The North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (DNCR) is dedicated to preserving the state's natural and cultural heritage through myriad programs and iniatives. DNCR manages more than 100 locations across the state including 27 historic sites, 35 state parks, seven history museums, five science museums, two art museums, the State Library, and the State Archives. Many DNCR divisions have online resources to support National History Day® research.
The State Library of North Carolina's Government and Heritage Library (SLNC GHL) is a hybrid library serving individuals and libraries across NC. GHL's online resources include newspapers, databases, government documents, resource guides, and much more. GHL supports researchers of all ages in research related to history, culture, and government.
Use Search Everything to search across print and online resource collections.
NCpedia is an online encyclopedia maintained by the SLNC Government and Heritage Library. NCpedia serves as a comprehensive resource for information about the state. Some of its most popular topics include biographies of notable figures, state symbols, and historical events.
NCpedia features over 8,000 pages and has a variety of educator resources including the NCpedia K-8 Collection.
DNCR's Learning Happens Here initiative utilizes the state's cultural and historical assets to enhances education in North Carolina. Learning Happens Here (LHH) aims to inspire lifelong love of learning, promote unity through shared history, foster science literacy, encourage environmental responsibility, and instill a lifelong passion for reading.
LHH's Resources for Lifelong Learning collection features resources from across DNCR.
ANCHOR (A North Carolina History Online Resource) features a wealth of materials on North Carolina's history, including primary sources, transcribed newspaper articles, and multimedia content.
While ANCHOR is developed for an audience of grades 8-12, its content is useful to educators and researchers of all ages.
The North Carolina Digital Collections (NCDC) is the online repository of the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
The NCDC is a trove of primary and secondary source resources including photographs, manuscripts, maps, oral histories, and government documents. There are more than 60 thematic collections including African American Education, the Speaker Ban Law, Civil Rights, the Civil War, and NC State Parks.
The NC Historical Highway Marker program is led by the North Carolina Office of Archives and History that commemorates significant historical sites, events, and figures across North Carolina. Established in 1935, the program has installed over 1,600 markers, each providing concise historical information to the public. These markers help educate residents and visitors about the state's rich heritage and foster an appreciation for its historical landscape.
The NC Historical Highway Marker program's database includes a brief informational text about each marker. Not only are these essays informational themselves but the included references can direct you to relevant historical documents.