Be sure to check out resources from the State Library, State Archives, and more from the NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources on the DNCR Digital Resources page.
DigitalNC - DigitalNC is a project of the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center (NCDHC). DigitalNC includes historical resources from more than 300 partners in all 100 NC counties. DigitalNC is full-text searchable and features resources including city directories, scrapbooks, photographs, yearbooks, newspapers, and more including primary source sets for educators.
Digital Library on American Slavery - Includes personal narratives, legal documents, plantation records, and legislative materials that provide perspective into the lives of enslaved individuals and the institution of slavery.
Documenting the American South - A digital publishing initiative from UNC Chapel Hill's University Library, Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a collection of transcribed historical documents that is full-text searchable and divided into thematic collections. Includes primary and secondary sources like oral histories, state records, narratives, maps, and more.
Enslaved People in the Southeast - A highly accessible digital exhibit featuring legal records, portraits, plantation records, and much more related to the legacy of slavery. This resource is a project of the The Association of Southeastern Research Libraries which includes the libraries of Duke, NCSU, NCSU, UNC-Chapel Hill, UNC-Charlotte, UNC-Greensboro, and Wake Forest Universities.
Chronicling America North Carolina Newspapers - A comprehensive digital archive of historical newspapers published in North Carolina from 1836 to 1922 from the Library of Congress's Chronicling America Project.
DigitalNC - DigitalNC's newspaper collections features issues from more than 1,600 NC newspapers. Excellent resource for harder-to-find issues of local newspapers, African American newspapers, student newspapers, and more. You can search and browse their newspapers by content and location.
Additional NC newspapers are available via the State Library of North Carolina. Some newspaper databases require users to have an SLNC Government & Heritage Library card, which is free and available to any NC resident.
Appalachian State University's Digital Collections
Southern Appalachian Digital Collections - The collaborative collection of UNC Asheville and Western Carolina University's libraries, the Southern Appalachian Digital Collections host nearly 30,000 items documenting Southern Appalachia's history and culture. Features resources from local organizations including the Canton Area Historical Museum, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Museum of the Cherokee Indian, Western Regional Archives, and more.