How do I find local history collections near me?
Your public library is the best resource for information about local history collections near you.
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center's list of contributors is another way to locate local history collections near you, as they partner with more than 300 libraries, museums, and heritage institutions across all 100 NC counties.
How can I know what an institution has in their collection?
Oftentimes, libraries, archives, and other historical institutions have an online catalog, usually linked on their website. If you can't find an online catalog, contact the institution or try using WorldCat or ArchiveGrid. (More information about WorldCat and ArchiveGrid below.)
How do I know what institution has the information I am looking for?
If you are searching for something specific -- or just starting your search -- ArchiveGrid, WorldCat, and SNAC are resources that can point you in the right direction. These resources simultaneously search the collection of thousands of institutions and provide information about available physical and digital resources. (More about ArchiveGrid, WorldCat, and SNAC below.)
What if I find a resource I want but it isn't located at any institutions near me?
Some materials, like books and microfilm, can be loaned between institutions through a process known as interlibrary loan. Check with your local public library or the SLNC Government and Heritage Library to see if they can assist you in accessing physical resources.
Many archival materials are one-of-a-kind and cannot be accessed from anywhere except the holding institution. Try contacting the holding institution directly to see what services they provide; some institutions offer on-demand digitization or may be able to direct you to another resource that is already available digitally.
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center partners with more than 300 institutions across all 100 NC counties to digitize materials and make them available online.
The NCDHC's contributors page makes it easy to find libraries, archives, museums, historic sites, alumni associations, and other historic organizations near you.
The ArchiveGrid database includes detailed descriptions of archival materials held by more than 1,400 institutions. It includes information about primary source materials such as letters, manuscripts, diaries, photographs, and other historical documents.
You can use ArchiveGrid to locate primary source materials or use their map to locate one of their partner archives near you.
WorldCat is a global catalog for thousands of libraries worldwide. It includes records for books, journals, DVDs, CDs, digital content, and more. WorldCat is a great resource to locate resources at a library near you.
WorldCat is great for finding secondary sources like books, documentaries, and journal articles.
Having trouble finding what you need? Contact the SLNC Government and Heritage Library for help accessing materials through our Resource Share or Interlibrary Loan and Lending services.
The Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC) Cooperative improves access to historical records by connecting related archival collections and providing detailed information about the individuals, families, and organizations documented within them. SNAC aggregates data from archives across the world to create comprehensive biographical and organizational records.
Use SNAC to fact-check basic biographical details, determine which archives house someone's records, and identify historical connections through correspondences in archival collections.
 |
 |
|---|---|
|
SLNC Government and Heritage Library SLNC Website: https://statelibrary.ncdcr.gov/ |
State Archives of North Carolina SANC Website: https://archives.ncdcr.gov/ |
One building, two collections for your research! The SLNC Government and Heritage Library and the State Archives of North Carolina are separate institutions located in the DNCR Building in downtown Raleigh.
The State Library and State Archives' digital collections are located in the North Carolina Digital Collections: https://digital.ncdcr.gov/