Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

North Carolina's Military History: State Documents

A guide outlining the impact North Carolina has made on United States military history.

State Government Publications about the Military History of NC

North Carolina's military has played a large part in the development of the state, as well as the United States. Troops that originated from and served in North Carolina have taken part in wars ranging from the American Revolution, to the Civil War, to current involvements. This study guide chronicles the history, development, and actions of North Carolina's military units. The featured documents showcase the relationship between North Carolina and its military, and their resulting relationship with the United States.

  • Adjutant General's Office. Register of North Carolina Troops, 1861. 1861.
    This document contains a catalog of North Carolinian soldiers who were enlisted to fight for the Confederacy at the beginning of the Civil War. The records are broken down by department, and indicate each man's name, rank, date of commission, and occupation.
    • Categories: Late 19th Century, Civil War, Confederacy, Enlistment and Exemptions, Military Action and Warfare
  • Adjutant General's Office. Register of North Carolina Troops, 1864. 1864.
    This document contains a catalog of North Carolinian soldiers who were enlisted to fight for the Confederacy towards the end of the Civil War. This register's records are slightly more pared down than the previous register, containing name, rank, and date of commission, but leaving out occupational listings.
    • Categories: Late 19th Century, Civil War, Confederacy, Enlistment and Exemptions, Military Action and Warfare
  • Moore, John W. Roster of North Carolina Troops in the War Between the States, Volume 1-4. 1882.
    This set of documents contains a catalog of soldiers from North Carolina who fought in the Confederacy during the Civil War. This register, published after the war, is much more comprehensive than the previous documents, including each soldiers name, rank, date of commission, county of origin, company, and casualty information.
    • Categories: Late 19th Century, Civil War, Confederacy, Enlistment and Exemptions, Military Action and Warfare
    • Significant Dates: Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 3, Volume 4.
  • Clark, Walter, ed. Histories of the Several Regiments and Battalions from North Carolina in the Great War 1861-'65, Volume 1-5. 1901.
    This five volume set gives a comprehensive history of Confederate troops from North Carolina during the Civil War. The volumes cover topics such as generals, regiments and brigades, organization of troops, battalions, and the navy. The information includes name, rank, date achieved, casualties, and explanatory histories, as well as a series of related lists and essays.
    • Categories: Early 20th Century, Civil War, Confederacy, Enlistment and Exemptions, History, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers
    • Significant Dates: Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 3, Volume 4, Volume 5.
  • Hamilton, J., ed. The Correspondence of Jonathan Worth. 1909.
    This set of documents contains the correspondence of Jonathan Worth, who was governor of North Carolina from 1865-1868. A significant portion of the letters deal with Worth's attempts to establish a compromise between complying with the military restrictions imposed by the Reconstruction Era federal government and maintaining North Carolina's military autonomy as a state.
    • Categories: Early 20th Century, Reconstruction Era, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers, Society and Memorialization
    • Significant Dates: Volume 1, Volume 2
  • Hamilton, J., ed. The Papers of Randolph Abbott Shotwell. 1929-1936.
    This three volume set forms an autobiography of Randolph Abbott Shotwell, a Confederate soldier during the Civil War. His narrative begins shortly before the war, follows Shotwell through his battle history and his stay in federal prison, and ends with a description of Reconstruction Era North Carolina.
    • Categories: Early 21st Century, Civil War, Reconstruction Era, Society and Memorialization, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers
    • Significant Dates: Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 3.
    • Alternate Names: Three Years in Battle and Three in Federal Prisons
  • Tucker, Glenn. Front Rank. 1962.
    This document contains a narrative that gives an overview of North Carolina's experience during the Civil War, including the various battles in which the state's troops were involved.
    • Categories: Late 20th Century, Civil War, History, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers, Society and Memorialization
  • North Carolina Confederate Centennial Commission. North Carolina at Gettysburg. 1963.
    This document gives an overview of the history of North Carolinian troops at Gettysburg. The summary begins with a history of the monument to state troops at the site, then gives a history of North Carolina's involvement, short biographies of important figures, and a listing of all North Carolinian troops who fought in the battle.
    • Categories: Late 20th Century, Civil War, History, Confederacy, Society and Memorialization, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers
  • Iobst, Richard W. Bloody Sixth: the Sixth North Carolina Regiment, Confederate States of America. 1965.
    This document gives a detailed account of the Sixth North Carolina Regiment that fought for the Confederacy during the Civil War. The record chronicles the regiment's history, beginning with its formation, through the battles in which it was involved, and ending with a roster of the troops.
    • Categories: Late 20th Century, Civil War, Confederacy, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers, Enlistment and Exemptions, Society and Memorialization
  • Raper, Horace W., ed. The Papers of William Woods Holden, Volume I, 1841-1868. 2000.
    This document contains the official papers of William Woods Holden, who was governor of North Carolina in 1865 and from 1868 to 1871; he was the only governor in the history of the state to be impeached and removed from office. The majority of the correspondence deals with his involvement in the Civil War and Reconstruction, as well as his fall from favor.
    • Categories: Early 21st Century, Civil War, Reconstruction Era, Confederacy, Society and Memorialization, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers, Legal
  • Umfleet, LeRae. 1898 Wilmington Race Riot Report. 2006.
    This document contains a comprehensive overview of the 1898 Wilmington Race Riot, a coup d'etat in which the city's government was overthrown, leading to widespread violence against African Americans.
    • Categories: Early 21st Century, African Americans, Legal, Society and Memorialization, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers
  • North Carolina, Apprenticeship and Training Bureau. Apprenticeship Training for Veterans. 2008.
    This document is a pamphlet containing information on North Carolina's apprenticeship and on-the-job training programs for veterans. The pamphlet contains information explaining the programs, requirements for eligibility, instructions for becoming involved, basic employment rates under the programs, and gives contact information.
    • Categories: Early 21st Century, Veterans, Economics, Legal, Society and Memorialization
  • Ijames, Earl. Digitization of North Carolina USCT Roster: a Lecture by Earl Ijames and Rhonda Jones. 2009.
    This entry contains a presentation given by Earl Ijames of the North Carolina Museum of History regarding the digitization of records that showcase the history of African American involvement during the Civil War and the Reconstruction Era.
    • Categories: Early 21st Century, Civil War, Confederacy, Reconstruction Era, African Americans, Society and Memorialization, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers, Union Troops from North Carolina
  • Glatthaar, Joseph T. Lincoln as Military Commander. 2009.
    This entry contains a speech given by Joseph T. Glatthaar of UNC Chapel Hill regarding President Lincoln's effectiveness as commander of armed forces during the Civil War. The discussion includes explanations of the various military campaigns of the Union Army, both those which were proposed and those which were implemented.
    • Categories: Early 21st Century Early 21st Century, Civil War, Confederacy, Reconstruction Era, African Americans, Society and Memorialization, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers, Union Troops from North Carolina
  • Smith, John D. United States Colored Troops. 2009.
    This entry contains a speech given by John D. Smith of UNC Charlotte regarding the United States Colored Troops during the Civil War. The discussion gives an overview of the development of the division, as well as the support and opposition the plan received from contemporary groups.
    • Categories: Early 21st Century, Civil War, Confederacy, Reconstruction Era, African Americans, Society and Memorialization, Military Action and Warfare, Militia and Volunteers, Union Troops from North Carolina