North Carolina's Military History: 1663-1783

(Culpeper's Rebellion, Tuscarora War, Cary's Rebellion)

• Bath - North Carolina's first town

Bath became the first incorporated town in North Carolina in 1705.  It's early days were marked by conflict.  First was the Cary Rebellion and then the Tuscarora Uprising.  

https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/bath  (Article reprinted from Tar Heel Junior Historian, Spring 2006)

• NCpedia entries on Tuscarora Indians and the Tuscarora War 

​​​​​​​http://ncpedia.org/american-indians/tuscarora

• Nooherooka 300 and Beyond

Website maintained by ECU and dedicated to the monument commemorating the bloodiest battle of the Tuscarora War, in which more than 900 Tuscarora were killed, wounded, or afterwards enslaved. The site includes information about the monument and a documentary history and maps about the War.
http://blog.ecu.edu/sites/nooherooka/

​​​​​​​

(French and Indian War – 1754-63, Regulator Movement – 1765-71)

French and Indian War Image: Fort Dobbs, NC

• Fort Dobbs Historic Site
  ​Fort Dobbs is the only North Carolina state historic site associated with the French and Indian War (1754-1763) or Seven Years War. Exhibits feature many of the artifacts found at the site and a scaled replica of the 1756 fort. Reenactments and special programs are scheduled throughout the year.
  http://www.fortdobbs.org/index.html
• NCpedia entry on the French and Indian War
  http://ncpedia.org/colonial/french-and-indian-war
• Alamance Battleground Historic Site
  Alamance Battleground, just south of Burlington NC, is the site of the final armed clash between the Regulators and Governor Tryon's militia. The site includes a visitor's center, period house and several battlefield monuments.
  http://www.nchistoricsites.org/alamance/
• The Regulators of North Carolina (1765-1771)
  Well regarded standard history of the Regulator Movement first published in 1894.
  http://docsouth.unc.edu/nc/bassett95/bassett95.html
• Government and Heritage Library Catalog Search (Regulator Insurrection)
  http://tinyurl.com/RegulatorInsurrection

American Revolutionary War (1775-1783)

• Alamance Battleground
  Here backcountry farmers, called Regulators, organized an armed rebellion against royal governor William Tryon's militia in 1771. Their tactics later became a model for fighting the British in the Revolutionary War.
  https://historicsites.nc.gov/all-sites/alamance-battleground/history
• Battle of Guilford Courthouse
  Fought on March 15, 1781 this was the largest, most hotly-contested battle of the Revolutionary War's Southern Campaign. The battle proved to be the highwater mark of British military operations in the Revolutionary War.
  http://ncpedia.org/history/usrevolution/guilford-courthouse
  http://www.nps.gov/guco/index.htm
• Biography of Andrew Jackson
  Short essay summarizing Andrew Jackson's life, including his service in the Revolutionary War.
  http://ncpedia.org/biography/jackson-andrew
• The Halifax Resolves
  Includes information about the Halifax Resolves, the first official action calling for Independence from Great Britain.
  http://ncpedia.org/history/usrevolution/halifax-resolves
• NCpedia entries on the Revolutionary War
  http://ncpedia.org/history/usrevolution
• Resources from the NC Digital Collections
  http://tinyurl.com/RevolutionaryWar
• Revolutionary War Army Accounts. Discover Online Catalog (DOC)
  Search the collections of the State Archives to locate materials for onsite research or to request copies.  Link to the DOC catalog and to information about State Archives at :  https://archives.ncdcr.gov/doc
• Government & Heritage Library Catalog Search
  http://tinyurl.com/ylk5hpe