North Carolina's Military History: 1804-1898

• This Month in North Carolina HIstory
  Essay published by the NC Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill on this brief conflict about a disputed border territory.
  https://blogs.lib.unc.edu/ncm/2006/12/01/this_month_dec_1804/
• NC Highway Historical Marker
  http://ncmarkers.com/Markers.aspx?MarkerId=P-76
• NCpedia Entries on the Walton War
  https://www.ncpedia.org/walton-war

• Resources from the NC Digital Collections
  http://tinyurl.com/69db29f
• Government and Heritage Library Catalog Search
  https://tinyurl.com/y3e7hlwa

Did you know?

Ensign Worth Bagley of Raleigh, North Carolina, is thought to be the first American naval officer to die in the Spanish-American War.

• Band Music from the Civil War Era
  This collection makes available examples of a brilliant style of brass band music that flourished in the 1850s in the United States and remained popular through the nineteenth century. (Library of Congress)
  http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/cwmhtml/cwmhome.html
• Bentonville Battlefield
  The location of the Battle of Bentonville, fought March 19-21, 1865, the largest battle ever fought in North Carolina and the last full-scale action of the Civil War where a Confederate army was able to mount a tactical offensive against the Union army of Gen. William T. Sherman.  
  https://historicsites.nc.gov/all-sites/bentonville-battlefield
• Black Dispatches:  Black American Contributions to Union Intelligence during the Civil War
  From the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
   https://www.cia.gov/static/6f73b7277dc7315abd223891b8fa585d/Black-Dispatches.pdf
• Book Discussion Series
  • America's Greatest Conflict: Novels of the Civil War
  • Beyond the Battlefield: Alternative Views of War
  • Rebirth of a Nation: Nationalism and the Civil War





• Biography of Zebulon Baird Vance
  Biographical information about Zebulon Vance, also known as North Carolina's Civil War Governor.
  http://ncpedia.org/biography/governors/vance
• Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System – National Park Service
  Computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen
  who served on both sides during the Civil War. This project is a cooperative
  effort by the National Park Service (NPS) and several other public and private partners.
  https://www.nps.gov/civilwar/soldiers-and-sailors-database.html
• CSS Neuse & Gov. Caswell Memorial
  View the remnants of the ironclad gunboat CSS Neuse, a product of the Confederate navy's ill-fated attempt to regain control of the lower Neuse River and retake the city of New Bern during the Civil War.
  https://historicsites.nc.gov/all-sites/css-neuse-and-governor-caswell-memorial
• Gilmer Civil War Maps UNC-Chapel Hill, Wilson Library Manuscripts Department
  Digitized extensive collection of Civil War maps with large groupings for North Carolina and Virginia. Most of the maps are dated 1861-1865 and indicate waterways, roads, places, churches, landowners, and distances.
  http://www.lib.unc.edu/dc/gilmer/  
• Hotchkiss Map Collection: Confederate Army maps
  The Hotchkiss Map Collection contains cartographic items made by Major Jedediah Hotchkiss (1828-1899), a topographic engineer in the Confederate Army.
  http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/collections/maps/hotchkiss/
• NCpedia entries on the Civil War
  http://ncpedia.org/history/cw-1900
• North Carolina: American Civil War
  Contains statistics data ranging from population, farming, and troop numbers
  http://thomaslegion.net/confederate.html
• North Carolina in the Civil War 
  Information and digital resources on North Carolina's role in the Civil War from NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. 
  https://www.ncdcr.gov/civil-war-north-carolina
• Resources from the NC Digital Collections
  http://tinyurl.com/847bha5
• Robert C. Caldwell Collection.East Carolina University, Joyner Library
  Digital collection of 57 letters and other documents from Cabarrus County Private Robert C. Caldwell of Company C, Young’s 10th Battalion, NC Heavy Artillery. These Civil War letters provide information about family, camp and homefront experiences, and activities of the military unit.
  https://digital.lib.ecu.edu/search?q=local_id:0845*
• UNC-Chapel Hill
  Digital collections devoted to the Civil War home front in North Carolina, and a collection of maps about the War
  http://docsouth.unc.edu/imls/
  http://www2.lib.unc.edu/dc/gilmer/