Skip to Main Content
- East Carolina University, Joyner Library
Digital collection devoted to Military History featuring letters, photographs, diaries and scrapbooks.
- Genealogy Microfilm Collection
The Government and Heritage Library’s genealogy microfilm collection contains North Carolina military service records such as the complete Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files, Revolutionary War records (federal), and North Carolina Confederate Pension Applications.
- NC Highway Marker Program
Started in 1935 the North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program is one of the oldest such programs in continuous operation in the United States recognizing significant events, people and sites across the state of North Carolina. You can search by keyword, county or predefined searches such as a specific war or battle.
- NC Military History Society
Organization dedicated to promoting and preserving the study of the state’s military history.
- NC Scenic Byways
This is a great resource for history buffs planning a trip in NC as it identifies many military-related points of interest:
- NC State Archives Military Collection
State Archives of North Carolina possesses a sizeable collection of records related to the military affairs of the State of North Carolina and the military service of her citizens dating from the 1740s to the present.
- NC's Military Impact Analysis
18 pages of concerning the economic impact of the military in North Carolina by the policy Research & Strategic Planning, a division of the NC Dept of Commerce
- UNC-Greensboro, Jackson Library
Women Veterans Historical Collection which contains letters, papers, photographs, published materials, uniforms, artifacts and oral histories.
- US Department of Defense
The US dept of defense’s military history page links to Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps History pages.
- US Department of Veteran Affairs, National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
Data Tables searchable by Region State, MSA, age, race and sex
- US War Dogs Association, Inc.
Promoting the long history of the Military Service Dog.
- Veterans History Project
The American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.