Family historians searching for military records of their ancestors will find a variety of online resources ranging from subscription databases with large military collections to websites of NC institutions which feature online finding aids and digital collections of private manuscript papers, oral histories, photographs, and maps.
Image Credit: Information at your public library: an American
privilege. Poster Collection. Series VII, Service and Relief
Organizations Posters. US Works Projects Administration
North Carolina Library Project, State Archives of North Carolina,
Raleigh, NC.
- Fold3.com
Many federal military records: Revolutionary War Rolls, Service Records, and Pensions; Compiled Service Records of Confederate Soldiers; Union Soldier Service Records with US Colored Troops; Civil War Union Army and Navy pensions; Pearl Harbor Muster Rolls.
http://www.fold3.com (Available by personal subscription or onsite at subscribing libraries.)
- Ancestry
Over 900 databases in its Military Collection, including US Army Register of Enlistments 1798-1914; US Pensioners 1818-1872; Indexes to War of 1812 Service Records and pension applications; Civil War Prisoner of War Records (Federal and Confederate); Confederate Service Records [men serving in organizations raised directly by the Confederate Government]; NC Volunteers, Spanish-American War; World Wars I and II Draft Registration Cards.
http://www.ancestry.com (Available by personal subscription or onsite at subscribing libraries in Ancestry Library Edition.)
- HeritageQuest
Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty-Land-Warrant Application Files - selected genealogical records from about 80,000 pension and bounty-land-warrant applications from National Archives microfilm series M805.
http://www.heritagequestonline.com
(Remote access available to North Carolina residents via NC LIVE through their local libraries. Other states offer similar accessibility.)
