Skip to Main Content

North Carolina's Military History: 1914-1945

A guide outlining the impact North Carolina has made on United States military history.

WWI (1914-1918)

Image Credit: Josephus Daniels, half-length
portrait, facing right. Photograph by
Harris & Ewing, c1920. Library of Congress,
Prints and Photographs Division. Reproduction
Number: LC-USZ62-36747.

WWII (1939-1945)

Image Credit: Get war information material at your
public library. Poster Collection. Series VII, Service
and Relief Organizations Posters. US Works Projects
Administration North Carolina Library Project,
State Archives of North Carolina, Raleigh, NC.

  • After the Day of Infamy: "Man on the street" interviews from the American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
    This collection presents approximately twelve hours of opinions recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor from more than two hundred individuals in cities and towns across the United States. Includes “Man on the Street” interviews (audio and transcripts) in Alamance County and Burlington, North Carolina in 1941 and 1942.
    Burlington, NC -- December 1941
    Alamance County, NC -- January 1942
  • Government & Heritage Library Catalog Search
    https://ghl.nccardinal.org/eg/opac/home
  • Military-related items in the Black Mountain College Collection
    This collection covers the experimental school located in Black Mountain, NC, from 1933 until 1956, its faculty, and students. The newsletters and bulletins in the collection cover topics related to how WWII impacted the school and its students.
    https://digital.ncdcr.gov/spotlights/bmc
  • Resources from the NC Digital Collections
    https://tinyurl.com/muu5r2kf
  • Tuskegee Airmen Fight in WWII
    Information and photos from the Smithsonian Institution that chronicle the Tuskegee Institute 99th Fighter Squadron, American’s first black air unit.
    http://airandspace.si.edu/explore-and-learn/topics/blackwings/tuskegee.cfm

Image Credit: USS North Carolina, docked. (N-85-5-15)
General Negative Collection, State Archives of
North Carolina, Raleigh, NC.



 

  • USS North Carolina
    This decommissioned battleship now serves as a living memorial to the conflict in the Pacific during WWII. 
    http://www.battleshipnc.com
    • WWII Mountain Memories: Home Front to the Frontline: Testimonies of WWII Veterans and Civilians from Western North Carolina. UNC-Asheville, Ramsey Library Digital collection includes over 100 interviews and about 200 photographs relating the experiences of Asheville and Buncombe County soldiers who fought in World War II.  http://toto.lib.unca.edu/findingaids/oralhistory/WWII/default_wwii.html